Monday, 22 March 2010

CFDA 2010 Fashion Awards : Nominees

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) is a non-profit trade association. The members of this council consist of over 350 of America’s most prestigious designers. The CFDA is responsible for a lot of charity events, including “Fashion Targets Breast Cancer”, and also raises funds for HIV/AIDS.

Alongside these things, the CFDA also hosts the annual CFDA Fashion Awards. This awards ceremony celebrates and honors fashion and designers. This year, the CFDA Fashion Awards will be taking place on June 7 at Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center; from a long list of designers who have presented their designs for 2010, the nominees have finally been announced.

Here are the nominees for the 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards:

Women’s designer of the year:

Alexander Wang

Marc Jacobs

Donna Karan

Men’s designer of the year:

Michael Bastian

Tom Ford 

David Neville and Marcus Wainwright of Rag & Bone

Accessory designer of the year:

Alexis Bittar

Proenza Schouler

Marc Jacobs

The Swarovski Awards are awarded to designers (working in America) who have shown to have made the greatest impact on the fashion industry, as a new and emerging designer, for his or her designs.

Swarovski Young Design (for women) Award:

Joseph Altuzarra

Prabal Gurung

Jason Wu

Swarovski Young Design (for men) Award:

Richard Chai

Patrik Ervell

Simon Spurr

Swarovski Young Accessory Design Award:

Eddie Borgo

Dana Lorenz

Alexander Wang

Other awards will be given out such as:

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award 
(awarded for a “lifetime” of consistent, creative influence and dedication to fashion)

Michael Kors

The Eugenia Sheppard Journalism Award
(awarded to a writer/photographer/editor who has done exceptionally well in reporting and covering the fashion industry)

Kim Hastreiter of Paper Magazine

The International Award
(awarded to a designer working outside of the US, who has made an impressive creative contribution to the fashion industry)

Christopher Bailey of Burberry

The Eleanor Lambert Award
(awarded for a unique contribution to the fashion industry)

Tonne Goodman of Vogue

The Fashion Icon Award 
(awarded to an individual who’s style has influenced the fashion industry)


In addition to all of these awards, a special tribute will be paid to the esteemed fashion designer Alexander McQueen. The CFDA felt that despite his apparent suicide (on the 11th of February, 2010) McQueen deserved to be honored at the event for his significant contributions and his commitment to the fashion industry.

No comments: